troutfactory notebook

I love the English that ends up on t-shirts in Japan, though for a long time I’ve stopped keeping my eye out for it because English-language t-shirts are so ubiquitous that trying to remember to actually read them is a bit like trying to remember to taste the air when you breathe.  Recently I’ve been compiling a list of my favorite findings.  Many of these shirts are clearly made strictly for the Japanese market, but others are quite possibly shirts that were originally sold in the US, the UK, or other large English-speaking markets, but have somehow ended up being sold in Japan.  Many of these shirts are shirts that wouldn’t be out of place at all if they were being worn for their ironic, hipster quality in Williamsburg, but here in Japan the beautiful strangeness of the English on them stands out as exceptional, in much the same way…

View original post 119 more words

