Karl Dallas Day

Today in the Church Calendar is the Feast of St Mary Magdalene

Though the identification of Magdalene with the woman taken in adultery is unbiblical, it makes a good story, so I have gone with tradition, rather then the true Gospel reading. The picture is Christ and the Woman Taken in Adultery, by Pieter Bruegel the Elder (1565).

Hear the song

My name is Mary
     And I come from Magdala And many a young man Has shared my bed. The life I led It drove me crazy I had seven devils In my head. The priests and elders They came and took me And they condemned me To my death. So pay attention And I'll tell my story If the good Lord spares me And gives me breath. We met a good man Down by the roadside They meant to trap him And catch him out. They said this…

View original post 646 more words

