The Creative Flux

A couple of years ago, I wrote a blog entry on the demise of our bees after the introduction of neonicotinoids in the past decade. At the time, the EPA had essentially admitted that although they were going to continue allowing the use of these pesticides, they vowed to keep observing their effect on the bee populations. As I have enjoyed watching the bees feast on a flowering Cardoon these past few days, I thought I’d check in to see if, in the past two years, the EPA have gotten any closer to a final assessment and decision on these neuro-active insecticides. As it turns out, they have not.

There are several pesticides in the neonicotinoid family. The most common are imidacloprids, clothianidin and thiamethoxam. As I write this, practically all corn grown in the American Midwest, and most of the soy bean seeds, are treated with one or the…

View original post 417 more words

