mogigraphia

At the age of 60, I finally learned how the name, “Mowgli” from The Jungle Book is pronounced. With a lifelong hearing loss, I continually come across words in my readings I know the meaning of, but have never heard.

As a young girl, when I read Rudyard Kipling’s The Jungle Book, I’d decided the first syllable in “Mowgli” rhymed with “ow”, and that stuck with me all my life. Until that is, my son and I were cast as deer in the Bellevue Youth Theater’s summer production of The Jungle Book. I now know the first syllable is pronounced as “mow” as in “mow the lawn”, and that’s a lesson I’ll always remember.

That’s not the only lesson I learned. I learned once again that my son continues to have the capacity to surprise me.

The Bellevue Youth Theater put on only one production this summer, The…

View original post 1,562 more words

