Toronto and World

Elevated Highways Weaving through Buildings

When I was a kid, coming into downtown on the Richmond Street flyover, a sign always reminded one that the End was Near, though you could get information by calling Jim, who had a church so close to the flyover that it almost touched. In later years Jim faced across the flyover at the Funnel, a lamented lost experimental film space, located in a building that similarly almost kissed the road. I loved it when my Dad drove by the buildings there, it felt so metropolitan, so coming into town, the polar opposite of the trapped in Agincourt feeling that repeatedly stalked my youth. Anyway today I was biking along King Street right there and you know, it made me think of Osaka, where roads don’t necessarily get in the way of buildings. Since the roads are not thought to be temporary, they maintain them, and try to make them…

View original post 2 more words

