The Theatrical Journalist

writing

I few of my friends have recently asked me for advice or assistance about writing. A topic that frequently comes up in the discussion is ‘finding your voice’ and how to do it. My response is usually pretty befuddled, as I’ve never done a writing course and I’m surprised when people want my opinion about these sorts of things. Writing is really just something I picked up because I wanted to create, and I realised acting and adhering to rules, scripts, and directors wasn’t the medium for me to do that. The truth is, you can’t just get up and perform a play whenever you want, you can’t have an idea burst at 3am and just act in your bedroom (well, I guess you can…). Writing gives you everything you need to release that creative energy. Writing gives your thoughts a medium of translation.
Often when I’m asked how I…

View original post 604 more words

