Culture Club 2013

“I am alone and miserable; man will not associate with me; but one as deformed and horrible as myself would not deny herself to me. My companion must be of the same species and have the same defects. This being you must create.”

Mary Shelley, Frankenstein

It was recently revealed that Aaron Eckhart of Thank You For Smoking and Batman fame would be portraying Mary Shelley’s legendary monster of Frankenstein in Stuart Beattie’s remake. Now, when Shelley wrote the above, exactly which of the countless visual representations of the monster did she have in mind? Was it the comical version in Mel Brooks’ Young Frankenstein (1974), or the bolt-necked green-faced monster we’re more familiar with from the classic Bride of Frankenstein (1935)? Upon the resurrection of his monster, Frankenstein describes:

“His limbs were in proportion, and I had selected his features as beautiful. Beautiful!-Great God! His yellow skin scarcely covered the…

View original post 68 more words

